2022 Yorkshire Snooker Championship Finalists Confirmed

Gary Milne and Malcolm Bilclough reach 2022 Yorkshire Snooker Final

With 3 former winners, a previous finalist, plus 3 of next week’s Q School entrants, this year’s last 16 in the Yorkshire Snooker Championship was difficult to call.

Winner for the last 4 years Jonathan Bagley edged another previous winner Gareth Green 3-2, whilst the third player present to lift the trophy previously Wayne Cooper, excelled in a 3-0 victory over Steve Peace with breaks of 64,63,44 and 78.

Elsewhere U19 Champion Liam Pullen overcame Shaun Wilkes 3(69,57)-1, Gyles Behbood beat ex-pro Sanderson Lam 3-0, Malcolm Bilclough squeezed through against Q School hopeful Dan Womersley 3-2, and David Birley beat Tom Harris by the same score, despite Tom having the day’s highest break of 118.
Martin Lawrence 3-0 against Tony Massey and Gary Milne 3-2 against Gary Hambleton made up the quarter finalists.

In the last 8 ties, Liam Pullen lost the first 2 frames before overcoming Gyles Behbood 4(64)-2, Malcolm Bilclough won a tight match 4(52)-3(65) against holder Jonathan Bagley, David Birley beat Wayne Cooper 4-1(81) and Gary Milne defeated Martin Lawrence 4-2.

So at the semi-final stage there was guaranteed to be a new name on the trophy. Liam Pullen raced into a 2-0 lead over Malcom Bilclough before Bilclough won 2 tight frames to level the score. Pullen regained the lead at 3-2 before Bilclough won the last 2 frames for a 4-3 win and reached his first Yorkshire final.

The second semi-final saw Filey’s Gary Milne prove too strong for David Birley running out a deserved 4-1 victor, a 71 break in the fourth frame being the highlight.

The final will be staged on a date TBC.

Thanks to referees Darren Smith, Michael Davenport and Sam Townend for officiating the quarter finals and to Mick Jensen for stepping in and refereeing the fourth quarter final.

Thanks also to our sponsors the Northern Snooker Centre for use of the facilities.

Malcolm Bilclough             
Gary Milne